top of page

Infographic: Technology in Education

This graphic summarizes the impact technology has had on education over the years. It also provides examples of current technologies that teachers use in the English classroom. Researched advantages and challenges to these current technologies are also provided. The graphic concludes with technology examples that are new to the education world but possess the potential to become just as common as other current technologies. The advantages and challenges to those devices are also provided.

I personally want to expand my technology integration into my classroom by first adding blogs. Last year, I introduced my students to discussion boards in Google Classroom, and they seemed to really enjoy those! It gave them time to offer their opinion on a topic and demonstrate that it was valid because of research. I think blogs would be further useful in my English classroom because I also want to add journal writing for my students. So instead of weekly discussion boards on Google Classroom that seem so disconnected, I believe having them create a blog with two different tabs or categories for the different types of writing will help them learn!


Here are the sources that I used for this infographic more formally cited.


References


Chen, B. & Bryer, T. (2012). Investigating Instructional Strategies for Using Social Media in Formal and

Informal Learning. International Review of Research in Open and Distributed Learning, 13(1), 87–

104. https://doi.org/10.19173/irrodl.v13i1.1027

Jamrus, M. H. M., & Razali, A. B. (2019). Augmented Reality in Teaching and Learning English Reading:

Realities, Possibilities, and Limitations. International Journal of Academic Research in Progressive

Education and Development, 8(4), 724–737.

Mabuan, R. A. (2018). Using blogs in teaching tertiary ESL writing. English Review: Journal of English

Education, 6(2), 1-10. doi: 10.25134/erjee.v6i2.1238.

Roblyer M. D., & Hughes J. E. (2018). Integrating Educational Technology into Teaching

Yildirim, B., Sahin-Topalcengiz, E., Arikan, G., & Timur, S. (2020). Using virtual reality in the classroom:

Reflections of STEM teachers on the use of teaching and learning tools. Journal of Education in

Science, Environment and Health (JESEH), 6(3), 231-245. DOI:10.21891/jeseh.711779


IMG_6454_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for reading my blog!

I hope some of my research and commentary helps you further develop your philosophy of education or even in your personal life! Have any thoughts or questions for me? Feel free to email me or private message me on Instagram. I'd love to hear from you. :)

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Let me know what's on your mind

Thanks for submitting!

© 2023 by Turning Heads. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page