top of page

An All-Around Helpful Website for Students

The primary website I use in my class to create a classroom that meets the needs of all my students is CommonLit.org. Never heard of it? Watch my tutorial video to find out more about it and how to use it effectively in your classroom!

I love that this website offers age ranges and various subjects. Furthermore, it provides the reading Lexile score for each piece published. This feature specifically helps me find sources within the same topic that I can still vary for my higher and lower level students within the same class.


I also like that the website provides an audio reading function, and it highlights the words as the audio is running. This feature helps students with visual or processing disorders.


A unique feature for ESOL students is that the sources can be translated into their native language. Instead of simply the top 3 or 4 most famous languages, this site offers a plethora of languages to choose from.


For all students, the tags and buttons embedded in the text aid in reading comprehension. The tags define words immediately within the text so the students don't hav to lose their place. The buttons direct the students to guided reading questions to assess their comprehension as they go. The students can see immediately if they answered correctly or incorrectly. At the end of the passage, most sources provide a quiz for the students to take.


Overall, I believe this website is an exceptional tool that could help all classes, but it especially assists my students in English class.


Do you use CommonLit.org in your classroom? Tell me about it! I'd like to learn how to better use it myself or just hear your story and experiences using it in your class.

IMG_6454_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for reading my blog!

I hope some of my research and commentary helps you further develop your philosophy of education or even in your personal life! Have any thoughts or questions for me? Feel free to email me or private message me on Instagram. I'd love to hear from you. :)

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Let me know what's on your mind

Thanks for submitting!

© 2023 by Turning Heads. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page